Rescheduling the Apocalypse and Other Housekeeping Matters

I am re-evaluating my habits in quite a few ways right now; two instances of this impact my blog.

First, I have cut back on the amount of Fallout 4 I was playing as part of a broader attempt to better regulate my schedule. Since what I have played has consistently revealed more things to write about, I want to follow the storylines even further before I attempt the next entry in the post-apocalypse series. Because I will not be playing nearly as much anymore, however, I cannot say when I will feel ready to write it. I could restructure the series, tackling other media next, but I had had a specific trajectory in mind which relied very much on Fallout 4’s themes of re-creating the settlement* of the United States. It might take a while for me to think of a new way into the topic.

In the meantime, I will try harder to write for this space; perhaps I will feel freer to do so now that I have excused myself from addressing impending post-apocalypses.

Second, I do not like my commenting policy made at the beginning of the year. Over the course of January and half of February, I have felt that limiting myself to three comments (excepting, as always, in my own comment spaces) makes me an inhospitable interlocutor. By accident I have limited myself to writing screeds or telling jokes; I give myself little or no room to respond to people who want to engage with what I have contributed. When I wrote my final comment for January, for example, I had to apologize that I could not respond to any responses; I suggested other ways to get in touch with me if readers desired conversation and also said I could always return in February if they were willing to wait, but I still felt like I was posting a bill on a street post more than participating in a conversation.

I will spend the next month considering the specific details of my new plan, but I anticipate it will go something like this: I can make two unsolicited comments over the course of a month, and may reply to responses to that comment no more than three times. At most, this would be a total of eight comments, but only if other commenters reply to me often; if no one replies to my comments, I could write a maximum of two comments. It will be harder to convey this in the comments themselves, but I think it would be more conducive to conversation without allowing the downward spirals that prompted my decision. I will post my new rules here when they are finalized.

*I am using settlement rather than colonization pointedly here, because it is settlement and not colonization that Fallout 4 tries to re-create.

Leave a Reply

