List of Links: Practice Round

Since I read a lot of articles on the Internet—I think it’s fair to assume that “reading a lot of articles on the Internet” is now the default, unless otherwise stated—I thought it would be easy to generate content for this blog by making lists of links. So I’m still surprised how long it took before I had collected enough links to articles I actually wanted to share. I had been thinking of making themed and branded lists of links, like Fred Clark, but for the moment I’ll have to use subheadings until I figure this genre out.

Arts and Culture

:: In case you haven’t heard yet, Miley Cyrus recently wrote a song about the death of her pet blowfish, Pablow, and she performed it in a unicorn onesie with tears in her throat. I found this performance surprisingly moving.

:: A pair of identical twins have started painting together. The journalism makes much of the fact that they paint without speaking about it, but I’m more interested in what they have to say about why they paint what they paint.

:: Todd VanDerWerff argues at Vox that the endless lineup of superhero movies has been an attempt by the American film industry to reckon with the 2001 terrorist attacks in New York City. I find the early part of his argument about floods and Neanderthals weak, but the crux of his argument seems compelling. SPOILER: as these films get better and better at addressing post-9/11 anxieties, we’ll start to see the end of them.

:: Somebody made a mash-up of Mad Max: Fury Road and The Unbreakable Kimmy Schimdt’s intro song, and oh what a clip, what a lovely clip.

Libraries

:: So far I have not read any articles about libraries I want to share; I assume that’s only because I’m reading the wrong magazines and blogs for my personal interests. I would be so happy if you could give me recommendations.

:: That said, See Also’s first issue recently launched. See Also is a student-run, open access journal running out of my most recent alma mater (as of last Friday): UBC’s iSchool, still better known as the School of Library, Archival and Information Studies (SLAIS). I look forward to reading it.

Kids These Days

:: Teenagers today are better behaved than any generation of teenagers for which we have the relevant information. This batch of teenagers has fewer pregnancies, their sex is more protected, they consume less alcohol and fewer drugs, and they (maybe) exercise more.

:: Let’s put this in perspective: Mental Floss has 15 complaints people have made about younger generations. The oldest on the list is Horace, writing in circa 20 BCE; the most ludicrous may involve the different fabrics used in umbrellas.

Leave a Reply

